The Final Perfumes

Just a small, quiet poem for this autumn evening.

Autumn

The final perfumes
of the year drift off the trees
and simply hover there.

The shadow of the mountain
licks my unlit garden,
making it almost too cold

to stand outside and think of you.
But a shiver blows across my neck,
and I know you feel it, too.

–Javen Tanner

2 Replies to “The Final Perfumes”

  1. Hi Javen! You may remember me as Lansing McLoskey’s student at UM. I’m not sure if you got my email, but I’m premiering the choral piece I wrote based off your poem tonight during my senior recital! It starts at 8pm and the live feed is here: http://www.miami.edu/frost/index.php/frost/frost_events/streaming_events/gusman_concert_hall/ The piece is fourth on the concert. Thanks again for sharing your poetry with me!

    Warmest regards,
    Rachel Dean

Leave a Reply

