2012 Theatrical Report

This year I directed four plays and one staged reading. Last year I directed seven plays, and I went the entire year without directing Shakespeare. Three of the four plays I directed this year were Shakespeare plays, and the one non-Shakespeare, This Bird of Dawning Singeth All Night Long, gets its title from Hamlet. The pendulum swings.

February: Hamlet

Hamlet Poster

March: State of the Union. This was a staged reading of my friend Erik Orton’s play.

State of the Union

May: The Taming of the Shrew

Taming Poster 1

September: The Winter’s Tale. Of the plays I directed this year, this is the only one in which I acted. I played Leontes and The Shepherd.

Winter's Tale Poster

November: Prosopon: An Evening of Blank Mask Theatre. This is not one of the plays I directed this year. The show consists of five blank mask pieces created and directed by my students. It was excellent.

Prosopon

December: This Bird of Dawning Singeth All Night Long. This was our fifth year performing this Nativity piece. There were some big changes this year. I was very pleased with it.

This Bird Rose Wagner Poster 2012

The Odyssey is up next for Waterford, and Sting & Honey’s next show will be Hedda Gabler. Here’s to a great 2013.

2 Replies to “2012 Theatrical Report”

  1. Is your Hamlet a woman?? In my head and my heart I have written over and over, Hamlet as a woman.. a woman who grew up at her father the Kings side and seeks revenge.. I think it would be BEAUTIFUL!!!! btw my first husband and I called the first year of our marriage ” The Taming of the Shrew”…;)

Leave a Reply

